My thoughts about vlogging, being new to it and all.

Status
Not open for further replies.

senthx

Wannabie Member
Jan 8, 2012
Bedfordshire
I ride a
BMW 650 Sertao, Honda XR 250, Suzuki VanVan
So I've not been doing this that long, and I'm not very good at it, but I'm having fun, so all the time it's fun I shall carry on.

Do I film all the time, or just on trips I think should be eventful?

Sods law dictates all the time. Leave the camera behind, something interesting will happen!
My friend very inconsiderately crashed when I'd switched my camera to photo every 3 second mode. :lol:
Even every 2 second would have been better. If i'd been filming, I'd have probably caught my first youtube clip to get into the thousands. :roll:

Keep it short, or audience targeted.

I think I should go for short and sweet clips.
Like 30 to 90 seconds. What I find interesting others might not, so they should be focused.
UNLESS - club ride outs for example, we go out for a day's ride, I film for 4.5 hours, and then try and upload 15 minutes highlights, I've got a very small ready audience, the people that went on the ride out mostly. If it interests them, it's good enough for me.

Come up with some ideas.

Time to stop just filming, (well not filming, see my first post) uploading the same old same old clips of me riding in the same area(s), though the first handful were little more than test clips anyway. I think that I will try to store these clips though, for possible future use, who knows.

So, ideas. Well my Frank Spencer / Some Mother's Do Ave Em clip was rubbish, I could see what I wanted to do, but I lacked the editing skills to make it work well.

Ideas for the future;

Quick tour of my bike, and how it's looking after 4 years, try to catch the odometer rolling past 30,000 miles in that clip too, it's coming up to 28,000. Quick tour of my wifes bike. Maybe a compare and contrast of what life's like on the road riding each bike, a 1000cc and a 125cc