Not open for further replies.

Nikojin

Wannabie Member
Oct 25, 2011
Hollywood, CA
www.nikojin.com
I ride a
2009 Ninja 250R
I recently bought the new Drift HD and mounted it to the left side of my helmet. This has caused two problems for me:

1) I didn't realize the Drift HD recorded .MOV files! I don't own a Mac, so I'm forced to convert them to something useable in Windows (.AVI). I've tried various conversion software every one of them lowers the quality in both video and audio. Then I have to rotate the video 180º, which causes problem #2.

2) Rotating the footage drops the quality again, slightly, from what I can tell.

I'm a total noobcake when it comes to video editing. Short of buying a Mac, do I have any options? Any Drifters here use Windows to edit their vids? I love the quality of the videos when I play them back in QuickTime, but I can't seem to edit them without ruining them.

Thanks for your help!

BrianWest58

Wannabie Member
Jul 23, 2011
Terre Haute, Indiana
www.youtube.com
I ride a
Triumph Sprint ST1050, KX250 and various other instruments of two wheeled death.
WMM converts the format automatic like. Have been trying out VideoPad and seems to work very well and faster than MovieMaker.
Why would you need to rotate during edit since the lens rotates?

sportyeight

Wannabie Member
Jul 23, 2011
Illinois
www.youtube.com
I ride a
2015 Yamaha FZ-07
Nikojin said:
1) I didn't realize the Drift HD recorded .MOV files! I don't own a Mac, so I'm forced to convert them to something useable in Windows (.AVI).

I have a drift. I'm on both Vista and 7 machines, using Windows Live Movie maker (not available on XP).
I've got the k-lite codec pack installed (http://www.codecguide.com/download_k-lite_codec_pack_basic.htm).
Drift files import into Movie Maker just fine for me.

ariderslife

Wannabie Member
Jul 26, 2011
Melbourne - Australia
www.youtube.com
I ride a